Excuses for losing

cincyhokie

Allow me, if I may, to make a short statement regarding the mental aspect of the game. This is coming from my wildly successful career as a therapist and my recent book (sarcasm. though I am a therapist).

Excuses exist. Yes, there are reasons that teams win and lose in any given game. When key players are not playing it has a definite impact on the game. No doubt, no question.

Here's why excuses don't matter even though they exist. Excuses limit you on your potential. Excuses keep you focused on what you THINK are extraneous circumstances that are just bad luck. It's kind of like believing in curses. Your focus is always on what's going on beyond your control. Excuses leave you essentially powerless and defeated.

In the case of excuses concerning a football team dealing with injuries, it's ok to recognize where your energy spent improving where the team should go. Depth, adjustments in game planning, personnel, etc.

Excuses have no part of consistent success, ever. In anything and in any situation. Always keep the focus on what you can control and what you can influence. Focusing on what you perceive as "chance" and "luck" don't help your cause!

The Colts stomped the Bengals' with Boom Herron, a Bengals' practice squad player and former draft pick. He also was the 2nd leading WR for them.

Yes, you don't hear them making excuses.

It certainly helps to be good in the trenches, something the Bengals' never seemingly are for very long.

It's like they say in the military:

What's effective range of an excuse ??

ZERO.

I won't present the injuries as an excuse for what happened with this team, but they certainly had an impact that was apparently too much for them to overcome. I don't think they executed very well, weren't able to push the ball downfield on offense, and weren't able to generate a pass rush on defense.