Jump to content

O'Brien Award Finalists Annouced


Recommended Posts

FORT WORTH, Texas (Sports Network) - Oklahoma quarterback Jason White was one of three finalists announced Tuesday for the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's top quarterback.

White, who captured the honor last season, is joined by Southern California quarterback Matt Leinart and Utah signal caller Alex Smith. All three were chosen by the O'Brien Selection Committee, a nationwide panel of sportswriters and commentators, and former O'Brien Award recipients.

The winner will be announced on December 9, 2004.

White, last year's Heisman Trophy winner, has started all 11 games for the Sooners this season and has thrown for 2,707 yards and 30 touchdowns on 209- of-325 passing. Oklahoma (11-0, 8-0 Big 12) has one game left, the Big 12 championship on December 4, before playing in a BCS contest.

Leinart has 10 starts for the Trojans (10-0, 7-0 Pac-10), who have two games left on the season (Notre Dame and UCLA). Leinart has completed 204 of his 310 attempts for 2,372 yards and 23 TDs.

Smith, meanwhile, has thrown for 2,624 yards and 28 touchdowns. He has completed 185 of his 280 passes in 11 starts for the Utes (11-0, 7-0 MWC).

All three quarterbacks have four interceptions.

The award's namesake is Davey O'Brien, who led TCU to the 1938 national championship and was the first player to win the Heisman, Walter Camp and Maxwell Awards in one season.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...