Is anyone here a serious runner ??

ArmyBengal

So at 40 years old and less than 4 months until I'm done with the Army, I have decided to take up long distance running. I've always had to run for my physical fitness tests of 2 miles, but nothing coming anything close to the 26+ miles for a marathon. Anyway, I started this 18 week running program and I completed my last run of 13 miles the other day.

I'm pretty happy with how things are going with the exception of thinking my knees aren't going to make it the full marathon distance. I still have better than a month+ of training to complete, but was wondering if anyone else has trained at that level before and how they dealt with having setbacks in their training program.

Just curious...

I'm a cross country coach. I prefer shorter races (5k - half), but know plenty about marathon training.

My biggest advice at this point is that you absolutely can't afford to ignore your body. If you need to cut back your training, then so be it. It's far better to slow things down a bit than to seriously injure yourself and end up missing weeks or longer.

General advice would be to do some runs on grass or softer surface trails. This should help cut down on the pounding your body is being forced to adjust to. Also, how many miles have you logged in your shoes? Are you running in appropriate shoes for your weight and running style (pronation, supination, etc.)? Is there any chance you might need inserts?

Thanks, I got my shoes fitted and bought them right before I started the training program and they are awesome. I have a pair of Asics Nimbus 11's and they are perfect for my feet. I would have to go back and check mileage to give an exact count, but I'd say in the 10 weeks I've been doing the training program, I've logged a little better than 200 miles. Another 34 by the end of this week.