Did we get cheated?

agreen_112

We all know that last play was exactly the Bengals luck, nothing ever seems to go right for us, I'm used to that... Let's not talk about that here in this thread.

I've been officiating football for 3 years now so I know the rules really well. I'm also the head ref for most of my games so keeping the clock is something that I know very well.. Obviously I do not officiate NFL games but the rules translate. I do peewee up to junior varsity (HS).

Now maybe some of you can help me but I really think that we were cheated on that challenge/time out charged to the Bengals play and that it effected the result of the game...

I'm listening to the game on the radio but I had a very clear discription of the playcalling, I did not see what coach Marvin did at this point... Read very carefully.

When Caldwell caught the pass and was downed at the one half yard mark there was :41 seconds left on the clock. Play was stopped to review the play. Now at this point this is no different than and Official time out. The ref reviews the play, gives the annoucement that the ruling on the field stands. We kick the extra point. Then, the ref says to set the playclock/gameclock to :20. This was the right call!!!

Denver's coach calls over the official and starts a debate. After the debate, he comes back out and says, "The ruling on the field stands, therefore Cincinati is charged a T.O. Please reset the gameclock to :41 (or :38, I can't remember)."

First of all we can't call a challenge under 2:00. The booth reviewed the play.

So let's just say he got the call right after he made the announcement... After an official T.O., the gameclock would be running depending on the outcome of the previous play. I did not see the catch from Caldwell and Lapham didn't say wheter he was in or out of bounds at the one half yard marker... Fill me in on this because this is very important.