Reds Hall of Fame exhibit excites Rose

WhoDeyForever

CINCINNATI -- Pete Rose says he hasn't forgotten much about his playing career, but his first visit to the newly opened exhibit honoring his playing career at the Reds Hall of Fame and Museum did revive some memories for baseball's all-time hits leader.

Rose attended a press conference Tuesday in the Reds Hall of Fame Theatre prior to an exclusive grand opening event for the exhibit, which opens to the public Saturday.

Fans paid as much as $250 to attend a special reception with Rose prior to a sneak peek at the exhibit.

"All of these artifacts remind me of a story," said Rose. "I don't forget too much when it comes to the game of baseball. I remember the players that played for me, the players I played with and the players I played against. I was a student of the game."

Many of Rose's former teammates, including Tommy Helms, Leo Cardenas, Dave Parker and Jim O'Toole were on hand.

"Whoever gave him the nickname 'Charlie Hustle' was right," said Cardenas, who was the Reds starting shortstop during Rose's rookie year. "He could play every position. He was always focused on the game. He has a lot of fans in Cincinnati. He's a homeboy here."

Prior to Tuesday's press conference, the centerpiece of the Rose exhibit, the bat used by Rose on Sept. 11, 1985, for career hit No. 4,192 to eclipse Ty Cobb's all-time mark, was unveiled. Also on display will be the baseball from that historic hit and the piece of AstroTurf upon which the milestone hit landed at Riverfront Stadium.

The 2,000-square foot exhibit will also feature the uniform Rose wore when he collected career hit No. 3,000, the batting glove he wore that night, Rose's 1975 and 1976 World Series championship rings and a display housing 20 bats (most of them game-used) that trace Rose's entire 1963-86 playing career. Most of Rose's career accomplishments, including his 44-game hitting streak in 1978, are highlighted.